林一林:从她的脚下出发

展览日期:2017年12月2日至2018年1月13日

开幕式:2017年12月2日,4点至7点

 

博而励画廊荣幸地宣布,艺术家林一林的个展“从她的脚下出发”将于2017年12月2日正式开幕。这是艺术家与博而励画廊的首次合作,展览将展出他在2011-2015年间在世界不同地点实施的四件艺术作品,这些作品表演的现场将以录像和摄影照片的方式呈现。

 

自上世纪90年代以来,林一林一直是中国当代艺术圈的领军人物,他与艺术家徐坦及已故艺术家陈劭雄和梁钜辉于90年代在广州以“大尾象工作组”的名义举办了多场的大型展览和活动。这支成立于中国的南方城市的艺术团体,将广州这一最早在中国经济改革的政策带动下经历了飞速的城市化和现代化发展的城市之一,及它周遭逐渐显现出来的变革作为舞台,以摄影、录像、表演和装置等多种媒体的艺术形式拓展着其艺术实践。1995年,林一林实施了他最具标志性的行为作品《安全渡过林和路 》。作品中,艺术家用水泥砖砌起一堵墙,又将它们一块一块地从马路一边移动到另一边。这一艺术行动揭示了林一林的创作实践中的核心观念——通过在个体身上强行附加体力和耐力的挑战,实现了城市、政治和社会环境之于个体影响的转化。

 

本次展览中展出的四件艺术作品,旨在探索个体举动如何能在公共空间内对常规的人类行为规范发起挑战。在这些作品中,艺术家的身体成为了一个中间对话者,把自身——在此,作为一个植入物,一种文化上的“他者”甚至是流亡者——与周遭的陌生环境连接起来。在对自己非西方身份的认知下,林一林选择以一种开放的形式与新的公共领域及公众建立关联,尝试着打破社会既定边界和城市界限,审视由人类身体和其周围环境之间的相互作用所引发的政治作用力。

 

2014年,林一林受第12届瑞士雕塑展之邀,在瑞士小城比尔实施了为期三天的行为作品《从她的脚下出发》。作品中,艺术家挑选了三个不同地点——正义之泉(喷泉上耸立的一位一手持剑一手持秤的蒙眼金色女子)、Zentralplatz (公共广场)和Le Centre PasquArt (当代艺术馆)——作为起点,以滚动身体的方式穿过街道,最终抵达市政厅。此作品延伸了林一林此前在旧金山卡蒂斯特艺术基金会三个月的艺术家驻留项目中实施的《金色游记》作品,以地面滚动这一非常规的方式宣告个人对新的环境介入,艺术家与“护送”他的一队当地参与者一起,在城市中的不同地点集体移动。《我们都很重》是林一林在第12届哈瓦那双年展上实施的作品。艺术家用中国杆秤为当地人和游客们称重,并在街道上留下了一连串体重计数。 这个抬起和称重的过程,作为一种介入的方式,呼应了美国政府当时对这个封闭的社会主义国家实施长久的制裁和旅行禁令将要撤销的一刻。最后,《假日》创作于罗马,不同于其他作品,它简单地在一个异国文化背景中,展示了个体对“吃”这一必不可少的日常基本行为的个人反应,由此引发出个体在全球化的语境中所表现的不协调、不适应,以及指向全球化广泛层面上对个人及身体的影响。

Lin Yilin: The Departure from Her Feet

Exhibition Dates: 2 Dec., 2017 – 13 Jan., 2018

Opening: 2 Dec., 2017

 

Boers-Li Gallery is pleased to announce the opening of the solo exhibition, “Lin Yilin: The Departure from Her Feet” on December 2, 2017. On the occasion of his first collaboration with the gallery, the exhibition brings together four recent projects from 2011-2015, executed at various locations across the world. On view are the videos and photographs of these performances. 

 

Lin Yilin, a seminal figure of the contemporary Chinese art scene since the 1990s, held a number of exhibitions and activities with Xu Tan, Chen Shaoxiong and Liang Juhui under the name of the Big Tail Elephant Group in Guangzhou. The group formed in the southern city of Guangzhou - one of the first to undergo rapid urban development and modernization in light of the social and economic reform policies in China - has adopted the unfolding transformations around them as a stage on which, they experimented with conceptual art practiced with multimedia art forms such as photography, video, performance and installations. An iconic piece Lin executed in 1995, Safely Maneuvering Across Linhe Road, in which the artist moved a wall of cinder blocks piece by piece from one side of the street to the other, foregrounded the central notions in Lin Yilin’s art practice – translating the impact from one’s urban, political and social environment, by imposing challenges on one’s own physical strength and stamina.

 

The four works presented in this exhibition seek to investigate how individual gestures challenge conventional norms of human behaviors in public space. In these cases, the body of the artist serves as an interlocutor between the self, in these cases, an implant, a cultural “other” or an émigré, and his foreign environments. By choosing approaches that engage with the new public with the awareness of his non-Western identity, he pushes the existing boundaries of social and urban constraints and tests the political impact created by interactions between the human body and its surroundings.

 

The Departure from Her Feet, a 3-days performance executed upon the invitation of the 12th Swiss Sculpture Biennale in 2014 took place in the small town of Biel/Bienne, Switzerland, where the artist chose three locations, the statue of justice (a blindfolded female figure holding a sword and a scale erected above a water fountain), Zentralplatz (a public square), and Le Centre PasquArt (Museum of Contemporary Art) as points of departure, from where he traversed the streets towards city hall by rolling on the ground. This piece, derived from his previous performance executed from a three-months artist-in-residence program at the Kadist Art Foundation in San Francisco, Golden Journey, for which the artist’s rolling on the ground as a way of occupying a new environment was mitigated by a convoy of locals, with whom he moved about various sites of the city collectively. We Are Very Heavy, executed for the 12th Havana Biennale, Lin invited the locals and the tourists to be weighed in on a Chinese scale, which left a long trail of their bodyweights marked on the streets. The action of lifting and weighing as way of intervention resonated with a time when the U.S government was lifting sanctions and travel bans to this formerly closed-off socialist state. Lastly,Holiday, executed in Rome, unlike the other works in this exhibition, simply reveals a personal reaction to a daily necessity as essential as eating, in a foreign setting, by which one’s discordance may amplifies on other registers in the context of the global.